Through Our Eyes Photography
Education Programme
School Workshop
Food. Family. Photography
Description:
Food has always been part of our lives. In a metropolitan city like Hong Kong, cuisines from around the world are literally on our doorstep. But have we ever tried to eat mindfully or understand what we are eating? As teenagers, how do our students get along with their family? By means of food, the course tutor gives her students an opportunity to study their family background and culture.

This course explores the connection between self, family and food. Students learn to create their own photographic work with food and by staging a scene, through which they understand more about their family. The course is divided into two parts. In the first part, students experiment with staged food photography. They learn basic camera skills as well as food photography, lighting, portrait techniques and how to create mood in their photographs. Not only can they learn and practise photography skills, but also enjoy the process of observing, feeling, deconstructing and reconstructing food.

In the second part, students create their own series using photography as the main medium. They will set up an exhibition in their school, using specific environments to enhance or stand out their work. The exhibits will be scattered over the campus, for example on the stairs, in a corridor, or inside a lift, bathrooms, the library, the tuck shop or the school hall. Students are free to pick their own exhibition spot to learn about the interaction between their work and the surrounding environment. Some students have chosen to work on larger scale works, with which they have the opportunity to make a bold statement. They also learn to pay attention to details and make precise measurements.
School Info:
Artist Educator: Doreen Chan
School: The Church Of Christ In China Kei To Secondary School
School Teacher: Chow Hang Yi, Chan Wing Man
Student: Law Chung Yin, So Ho Yin, Wong Ho Man, Ng Ming Wai, Fok Wai Chi, Sun Ka Sheung, Lee Yee Ki, Choi Chun Tak, Yip Ka Yeung, Lun Pui Ki, Ou Mei Yi, Theo Wong Wai Ho, Chan Hoi Lam
Student Interview:
Sun Ka Sheung
Sweet, sour, bitter and spicy – this is what life is about. Sun is inspired by different flavours of food and turns his subtle feelings into art. Bitter melons and flowers are often perceived as two very different things. Flowers are colourful and attractive; bitter melons, however, have an unappealing bumpy surface and a bitter taste, which is not everyone's cup of tea. In his photographic work, Sun places them together and makes a connection between the two. To him, life is a series of challenges. You have to face the bitterness in life, just like eating bitter melons, in order to survive the challenges. From hating bitter melons to loving them, his mother contributed a lot to his change of taste. “Every time my mum prepares bitter melons, she likes to garnish the dish with three flowers to symbolise the bittersweet nature of life. She'd also add some sugar to balance the bitterness. I see love in the combination of bitter melons and flowers,” he said. Taking part in TOE allows him to be creative and get a sense of satisfaction through photography instead of just drawing. He makes use of the lighting skills taught in a workshop to control different elements like the light source, angles and how to stage a scene. Everyone realises his or her work differently – that is how students develop their personal style. For example, he tied a bitter melon with a rope as a metaphor of uncontrollable situations in life. As an outgoing person, he manages to find a creative style that suits him the most. But at the same time, he feels insecure when trying to stand out from the crowd. This is perhaps the situation many artists find themselves in.

「憧憬世界」
攝影教育計劃
學校工作坊
食物.家庭.攝影
簡介:
生存在世,食物跟我們分不開。我們身處香港這個國際大都會,不費吹灰之力就能夠享用世界各地的食物,但我們到底有沒有真正地去感受和了解食物呢?學生處於青春期,他們和家人的相處如何?導師嘗試利用食物作為契機,讓學生了解自己的家庭背景和文化。

本課程探討個人丶家庭和食物的關係,學生學習以食物和擺拍攝影進行創作,藉此了解自己的家庭。學習過程分為兩個階段,第一階段讓學生透過實驗性的食物擺拍,學習基本相機運用丶食品拍攝技巧丶燈光運用丶人物拍攝丶氣氛處理等,逐步學習和實踐攝影的技巧,同時學習觀察和感受食物,以及分解和組合食物。

在第二階段,學生以攝影為主要媒介,創作個人作品,最後嘗試在校內佈展,利用展品身處的環境協助呈現作品,展品分佈在學校不同角落,譬如樓梯上、走廊間、升降機內、廁所、圖書館、小食部、禮堂等,位置都由學生各自挑選,讓他們了解作品和環境配合的重要性。部分同學更嘗試製作規模較大的作品,從製作的過程中學習大膽地表達自己,而在佈展的時候學習細心地處理展品和空間的互動。
學校資料:
藝術導師 :陳泳因
學校 :中華基督教會基道中學
學校老師 :周杏儀,陳詠敏
學生:羅頌然, 蘇晧言, 黃浩文, 吳銘威, 霍煒智, 申家常, 李苡琪, 蔡俊德, 葉佳洋, 倫沛琪, 歐美怡, 黃維顥, 陳海琳
學生訪問:
申家常
甜酸苦辣,人生的必經階段,申家常將此成為創作,把不同體會下細微的感受化成作品。苦瓜和花,本來毫不相關。花朵擁有美麗的形態,顏色鮮艷,吸引人的目光,相反苦瓜外表不討好,凹凸不平,味道更為苦澀,未必人人喜歡。可是在攝影作品中,申家常將它們放在一起,兩者產生連結。他認為人生許多時候都在磨練中渡過,因此要吃得苦中苦,就像吃苦瓜一樣,才會經得起考驗。由討厭吃苦瓜到喜歡苦瓜的味道,故事背後原來因為他的母親。「每次煮苦瓜時媽媽都會在旁邊加三朵花,代表苦中帶點甜,又會在煮的時候放少許糖,調和苦瓜的味道。苦瓜和花,我覺得帶了一種愛意。」申家常説。 參加憧憬世界攝影課程,令他開始放下繪畫以攝影作為創作的方法,從中獲得了一種滿足感。導師教學生打燈的技巧,他可以控制要拍攝的物件的光源、照片的角度、物件擺放的方法等,每個人拍出來的效果都不一樣。這些差別就變成了個人風格。例如,在作品中他用繩捆著一個苦瓜,表示了人生裡面一些難以控制的狀況。性格主動的他找到屬於自己的創作方法,渴望從眾多的人群中突出自己同時又會感到害羞,也許這是不少創作者身處的狀態。