Through Our Eyes Photography
Education Programme
School Workshop
What Is It?
Description:
Imagine there is a picture: a horizontal line appears at the bottom; you draw a square above the line, and a triangle on top of the square; and then you add a circle at the top right corner of the picture – this used to be the course tutor's idea of a sun and a house when he was small. Using a bit of imagination, the simple, abstract geometric shapes were transformed into something else.

The first part of the course targets at strengthening students' analytical skills and abstract thinking. They are guided through a deconstruction process of daily life objects, analysing their functions, symbols, shapes, materials and colours so as to deconstruct students' preconceived ideas about things. In the course of “dissecting” a thing, students are able to develop a more vivid imagination by making careful observations and understanding more about the object. During photography practices, students also learn to look at things differently through various compositions, angles, etc.

The second part of the course is about the comprehension strategy of self-questioning. Apart from understanding the physical qualities of things, students are guided through the thought process about the relationship between a thing and its location, its connection with a certain student and others. In this part, students study the same object from brand new perspectives such as its functions, its relations to other things or the shift of meanings according to different situations.

In the last part, students work on their own photo series under the guidance of the course tutor as a way to express their imaginations, eventually learning more about themselves and their surroundings.
School Info:
Artist Educator: Li Hiuwa
School: Helen Liang Memorial Secondary School (Shatin)
School Teacher:
Yuen Yuen Ho
Student: Chiu Wai Ping, He Lok Wing, Man Ka Hei, Wang Kam Tung, Kwan Hoi Ching, Lam Lok Pui, Wong Hoi Wai, Kan Tsz Shing, Wong Chin Lok, Law Tsz Ying Jodoca, Leung Yui Lam, Yiu Hei Man

「憧憬世界」
攝影教育計劃
學校工作坊
它是什麼?
簡介:
試想像一張畫:畫面下方有一條水平線,線上有一個正方形,正方形上畫一個三角型,而在畫面的右上角畫一個圓形 ── 導師小時候就是按這個想像,畫了太陽和一間屋,簡單的幾何,但加上自己的想像,抽象的幾何圖案就成了其他東西。

課程的第一部分將以加強同學的分析能力和抽象思維為目標,帶領他們解構日常生活的物件,包括其功能、符號、形狀、物料、顏色等等,藉此鬆動同學對物件的既有理解。在「解剖」物件的過程中,同學將會仔細觀察,慢慢對該物件有更多的認識和想像。在攝影的過程中,亦會教授不同的構圖和角度等元素如何改變我們觀看物件的方法。


課程的第二部分會讓學生學習自我提問和理解。除了物件的物理特性之外,導師亦將引導學生思考物件與其身處之地方的關係,物件與同學的關係,物件與其他人的關係……。在這部分,學生將會從各種面向切入,重新理解同樣事物在不同情況下的功能、關係、或者意義。


課程的最後階段,導師將帶領同學創作,以攝影來呈現他們對各種事物的想像,並從拍攝的過程重新了解自己和身邊的事物。
學校資料:
藝術導師 :李曉華
學校﹕梁文燕紀念中學(沙田)
學校老師 :袁婉荷
學生:趙惠萍, 何樂穎, 文嘉禧, 王錦童, 關凱程, 林樂蓓, 黃凱慧, 簡梓鋮, 黃展樂, 羅芷楹, 梁睿琳, 姚希文