Through Our Eyes Photography
Education Programme
Publications
Through a team of academics and experienced Artist Educators, TOE took on various image-based research and curriculum development for the wider benefits of the arts, cultural and education sectors. We carried out art research projects of which the findings have been published, so that they can be shared with the general public and art teachers. We have also developed online teaching resources based on the curriculum and documentation of our workshops. It is hoped that through such efforts, a clear, rich and diversified pool of resources will be made available for school teachers in the future.
Mumble Zine
Mumble Zine is a photozine established in 2016 that aims to offer young photographers an opportunity to publish their work. Its editorial team is mainly formed of TOE Alumni members. It has already published two issues. The first issue was led by TOE Artist Educator Leung Yiu Hong, who was later joined by another Educator Li Hiuwa in the second issue. Apart from photography, participants also take charge of duties such as editorial, printing and publishing, so the zine ultimately serves as a source of creative motivation. It was expected to attract even more young visual artists to publish their work, giving readers a fuller picture of the recent development of Hong Kong photography.
Connections
Connections 2016/17 Through Our Eyes Photography Education Programme Advanced Course is a collection of photography work of the course tutor and participants. Led by the Artist Educator Thomas Lin, the workshop explored human relationships and the stories behind them from an arts and humanities perspective. Through the photo work of participating students, we tried to convey the emotional connection between people and address the social issues we have today. The workshop was divided into three parts, namely theories and techniques, case study and individual project. In the case study part, the tutor invited students to take part in his photography project and take family photos for terminally ill patients in hospital. The unique subject matter and experience not only helped students gain technical knowledge about group photography, but also let them experience how the photographer interacted with people during a shoot. During the last part of the workshop, each student chose a photo subject, carried out a group photo shoot using different techniques and told a story with their own photographs.
Ground
Ground was published by TOE school workshop participants from Pooi To Middle School. The workshop focused on discovering the neighbourhood of the school. Through aerial photography and collecting historical information, personal experience and hearsay, the students had a brand new understanding of their familiar community. In the end, a series of reinterpreted community stories were depicted in this newspaper publication project.
A Living Space: The Homes of Pak Sha O
What is essential for a place to be considered “home”? How can we create a living space of our own? The Chinese title of the book, literally meaning “a livable house”, is named after a house that artist Ki Wong stumbled across. Every time she passed by the house, it inspired her to ponder what life should have been. Later, she had the opportunity to explore a well-preserved Hakka village at Pak Sha O in Sai Kung, which was resided by a group of expats. Inside the traditional Hakka houses, the residents created a laid-back atmosphere with English decor. Not only did they breathe new life into the original Chinese settlement, but they also created a symbiotic relationship with the environment. This book is the first part of a three-part biennial art project “A Living Space”, the aim of which is to explore the intrinsic quality and possibility of life through observation, exploration and research. Its initiatives take various forms, such as works of art, publications, exhibitions, websites and public events – all linked by the same theme.
From the Factories
A compilation of TOE students’ work, From the Factories reveals the diverse landscape of the lives and communities in Kwun Tong industrial district. This photobook documents 24 studios and workshop spaces of artists, designers and cultural workers in the district. It also recounts the history and re-development of Kwun Tong.

「憧憬世界」
攝影教育計劃
刊物
「憧憬世界」攝影教育計劃的團隊,由學者和經驗豐富的藝術導師組成,進行不同的視覺藝術研究和課程開發,務求為文化藝術及教育界作更多的貢獻。為了與公眾及藝術教育工作者分享課程內容與研究成果,我們透過出版刊物發表研究所得,另設立網上教材庫,匯集不同工作坊的課程設計,期望為學校老師提供清晰、豐富及多元的教學資源。
畫外影像誌
《畫外影像誌》於2016年創刊,以書誌為平台,讓年青人有多一個發表作品的機會。書誌的編採團隊主要由「憧憬世界」舊生會會員組成,至今已出版了兩期。第一期由藝術導師梁耀康帶領,第二期則聯同另一導師李曉華一起進行,由參加者主導攝影、編採、印刷及出版等工作,鼓勵他們持續創作,並發表作品,也讓讀者更為了解香港攝影的最新發展。
連繫,一班人
《連繫,一班人Connections 2016/17 憧憬世界攝影教育計劃進階課程》是一本整理了參與是次工作坊的導師和學員的作品集。工作坊由藝術導師練錦順帶領學員以「一班人」作為議題,從人文及美學角度,運用攝影探討人的關係和集體背後的故事,希望藉作品呈現人類連繫的價值,並反映社會境況。本課程分為理論及技巧訓練、案例實習和個人作品三部分。實習方面,導師帶領學員參與他的攝影計劃,到醫院為末期病人拍攝家庭照,希望透過特殊的題材和拍攝經歷,幫助了解群像攝影的技術運作,也明拍攝者跟被攝者的互動關係。在個人作品方面,各學員都因應自定的對象,以不同的形式為他們拍攝一幅合照及一輯影像故事。
地報
《地報》由香港培道中學學生於校內課程創作。課程讓學生以學校為原點,逐步擴大認識的社區範圍,以航拍攝影、歷史、個人經驗、「道聽途說」等不同角度切入,觀察及認識社區,尋找今昔有趣的事物,最後以報紙形式重新詮釋社區故事。
可以居─白沙澳鄉
「可以居」是「啟德」研究與發展中心由2013年開始的一項藝術計劃,計劃以地方為始,漸進觀察、探索、了解和研究,探究生活本質和可能性,並以藝術或出版作品為最終表現形式。團隊希望透過研究過程及作品來解答疑問:究竟一個怎樣的地方及居所,才稱得上「可以」停留安居?以及我們可以如何創造自己的生活環境?

「可以居-想像寮屋」是此藝術計劃的第二本出版刊物,由觀察散落於香港各區的寮屋,嘗試了解人對空間和居所的需求,從而呈現生活和創作不可分割的原貌。除了「啟德」的團隊,我們亦邀請了資深書籍設計師胡卓斌先生,與我們一同構想「可以居-想像寮屋」最終呈現的狀態,並且透過工作坊,介紹書籍出版及印刷業的工序。

http://alivingspace.hk/
我們來自工廈
「憧憬世界」攝影教育計劃帶領中學生發掘及捕捉觀塘工業區的社區風景與日常生活中的精彩片段,並把出色的照片結集成書。攝影集記錄區內24位文化工作者、藝術家、設計師的工作間,另輯錄了論述工業區歷史發展和現況的文章,為多元豐富的工廈風景勾畫輪廓。