Through Our Eyes Photography
Education Programme
History
2005
TOE started
TOE started
The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation founded and funded Through Our Eyes Photography.
2013
Handover of Programme Operation
Handover of Programme Operation
Through Our Eyes was handed over to and operated by kaitak, Centre for Research and Development of the Academy of Visual Arts at Hong Kong Baptist University.
Team Building and Artist Educators
Team Building and Artist Educators
We aim to train aspiring artists into educators who can master teaching skills and understand how to communicate with young people. We also encourage them to incorporate their art practice into teaching plans and professionalise themselves. Training camps are organised for these educators-to-be, not only to instil knowledge but also to let them understand what kind of teachers they are, so that we can build a strong team with the same goal.
Teaching Assistants
Teaching Assistants
We recruit university students and TOE participants who are interested in photography and education, and prepare them as teaching assistants by offering them training in photography and creative art. They are responsible for providing assistance in the classroom and documenting the lessons. Some of them might have the opportunity to become Artist Educators and further develop the TOE programme.
Documentation Archive
Documentation Archive
Artist Educator would base on the annnual theme to design the lesson plan, while teaching assistant is responsible for documenting the lessons. The class exercises of TOE courses have been compiled, edited as the TOE Online Teaching Materials Archive and being shared on our teaching materials platform.
Knowledge Exchange
Knowledge Exchange
We have developed teaching plans and taken part in lessons with different organisations, aiming to exchange know-how and create new possibilities in teaching.
2014
Mini Campus Exhibitions
Mini Campus Exhibitions
TOE applies a curation-led approach to its exhibitions, which emphasises a careful selection process of exhibits and their presentation. In order to let students enjoy showcasing their own work and promote visual art in schools, we explored with participating schools the possibilities to present art at different parts of the campus. During the exhibitions, students have shown their work in the lift, along the corridors, as well as at the canteen, classrooms and stairs to share with teachers and fellow students their achievement.
Personal Archive
Personal Archive
in 2014, TOE Artist Educators introduced the concept of “personal history” with the goal of creating an archive for young people. Artist Educators designed their teaching plans accordingly; they created “personal timelines” with students and shared with each other childhood photos and objects. Since that year, we have gathered different participants’ personal archives and photography works on our online platform as a valuable database of modern youth culture.
2015
Teaching Salons
Teaching Salons
We organise teaching salons regularly to discuss with Artist Educators the challenges they encounter in class, and explore the value and goal of art education. This allows the team to understand and learn from each other. We treasure the time we spend together at the teaching salons, in which our teammates share the same goal and are open to different opinions and ideas. Such positive, creative and vibrant environment is rare in Hong Kong, and we believe our Educators are able to introduce a brand new learning experience to students.
Teaching Through Photobooks
Teaching Through Photobooks
In order to let our students enjoy a more comprehensive experience of photography and art making, instead of teaching them to develop big prints and framing them, we noticed that photobook-making perhaps is a more practical approach in the school environment. Therefore, our Artist Educators studied the possibility of incorporating photobooks and printed matters into the programme and designed their teaching plans accordingly, so that their students could finish their work at their own desk.
2016
Alumni Programme and a Sustainable Platform
Alumni Programme and a Sustainable Platform
We have established an alumni programme and a sustainable creative platform. By opening up facilities and offering advanced courses, we encourage former TOE students to keep creating art and exchange ideas. The students also contribute to various TOE projects to maintain sustainability of the programme.
Mobile Library
Mobile Library
To promote art education and share the fruitful outcome of TOE, we toured around schools and showed them a selection of student work in a mobile library. Activities and workshops were organised on school anniversaries or open days to share the joy of art with all students.
2017
Focus Group
Focus Group
Visual art teachers at secondary schools often feel the lack of creative applied teaching resources that they can refer to. Therefore, we go from school to school to share our materials and help adjust the teaching plans to suit different needs at school. We have also organised class visits and sharing sessions among teachers to facilitate exchange of ideas.
2018
Through Our Eyes concluded successfully
Through Our Eyes concluded successfully
2019
Past Events

「憧憬世界」
攝影教育計劃
歷史
2005
「憧憬世界」開始
「憧憬世界」開始
何鴻毅家族基金於2005年創辦及贊助「憧憬世界」。
2013
接手策劃
接手策劃
「憧憬世界」的營運工作交由香港浸會大學視覺藝術院「啟德」研究與發展中心執行。
藝術導師及團隊建立
藝術導師及團隊建立
我們希望培訓有熱誠的藝術家掌握教學技巧及與年青人溝通的方法,並鼓勵藝術家將個人創作意念引進教案,成為專業的藝術導師。透過導師訓練營,學習不同知識的同時,認識自己是怎樣的老師,藉此建立一個有共同理念的團隊。
教學助理
教學助理
在大學及TOE學員中招募對攝影創作及教育有興趣的學生,提供攝影及教學相關培訓。教學助理除協助課堂的運作,亦會負責課堂記錄。他們日後也有機會進身TOE的藝術導師行列,持續TOE的發展。
教學記錄庫存
教學記錄庫存
藝術導師會依照年度主題設計教案,教學助理則負責進行課堂記錄。經整理及編輯的「課堂小練習」會集結為「憧憬世界」網上攝影教材資料庫,成為共享的教學資源。
知識交流
知識交流
與不同機構合作設計教案,一起參與教授課堂,促進知識交流,創造教學的不同可能性。
2014
校內小型展覽
校內小型展覽
TOE展覽提倡策展主導,反覆考量作品選取及其展示方式。為了讓學生體驗展示自己作品的樂趣,並藉此在校內推廣視覺藝術,我們與校方商討,發掘校內不同空間展示的可能性。學生最終在校內如電梯、走廓、飯堂、課室及樓梯間展覽作品,與學校老師及同學分享學習成果。
「個人檔案庫」計劃
「個人檔案庫」計劃
2014年,藝術導師定下「個人歷史」作為教學方向,在建立年青人檔案的大前提下,藝術導師各自設計自己的教案,與學生一起寫時間線,分享兒時舊相及個人物件。我們利用網上平台,匯集參與者的個人歷史檔案庫,以及攝影作品。我們在往後的兩年,持續收集相關資料,並上傳到網上檔案庫,從而窺探這個世代年青人的生活面貌。
2015
教學沙龍
教學沙龍
不時舉辦「教學沙龍」,與藝術導師討論課堂上遇到的各種問題,深入探討藝術教育的重要性及目標,從中彼此了解、學習及交流。我們非常珍惜「教學沙龍」相處的時間,在香港難得有志同道合的夥伴,能以開放的心接納及交流意見,滿載正能量、創造力和活力。我們相信這樣的導師會為學生帶來不一樣的體驗。
「攝影書」的教學方式
「攝影書」的教學方式
為了更能讓學生經驗整個攝影書創作的過程,除了晒出大大的相片並框上外,我們觀察到,書的表達形式或許更符合學生的需要,所以我們的藝術導師開始學習及討論書刊及印刷品製作的可能性,構思教案,好讓學生在一張桌上也能完成作品。
2016
舊生會與持續發展平台
舊生會與持續發展平台
成立TOE舊生會,創設持續發展的平台。開放設施及提供不同課程,,好讓TOE舊生能持續創作,也藉此凝聚有志攝影創作的學員互相交流;他們亦會協助TOE不同的項目,使計劃體現持續性。
流動圖書館
流動圖書館
為推擴藝術教育及分享TOE累積的成果,我們以流動的形式,把作品巡迴到不同的學校。我們的活動盡量配合校慶或開放日的日子,並安排工作坊,讓非視藝科的同學有機會一嘗創作的樂趣。
2017
教材發展焦點小組
教材發展焦點小組
不少中學視藝科老師有感坊間欠缺實用而具創造性的藝術教材資源,因此,我們走訪不同的中學,分享我們的教案,並協助他們按教學需要調整、應用。我們亦安排觀課及同儕間的分享會,讓老師能交流教學心得。
2018
「憧憬世界」完滿結束
「憧憬世界」完滿結束
2019
過往活動