Through Our Eyes Photography
Education Programme
Public Exhibition
落街玩周街影
Description:
Seeing Your Neighbourhood Through the Pinhole

Public spaces is an interesting topic. In a tiny but densely populated city like Hong Kong, the word “public” can almost seem paradoxical. Our students pass by all kinds of public spaces on a daily basis, but they do not necessarily pay attention to what is happening there. There are children playing in a park, for example, but also old people who do their morning exercises, housewives hanging out their laundry and workers taking a rest break. Public space users all have different needs and different imaginations regarding their community. Unfortunately, some students barely have any imaginations regarding public spaces.

In this course, students use their handmade pinhole cameras to observe and understand their community. First, they learn to make a pinhole camera and study how it works, as well as equip themselves with simple dark room knowledge. Then, they collect waste objects in their neighbourhood and turn them into one-of-a-kind pinhole cameras. During the process, they learn to communicate with people and observe their neighbourhood, eventually take photos of them and make personal improvements by taking part in community activities.


Familiar yet Strange

According to statistics, Hongkongers top the world by walking 7000 steps a day on average. But while we lead a hectic life and walk hastily day in day out, how many interesting people and stories have actually passed by without us noticing? In fact, every single day can be a voyage of discovery.

Starting from their school and the places they are familiar with, our students learn to make observations on a daily basis. Then, they go to places they have a vague idea of but don't know well enough to capture interesting people and stories on the streets. The ideas are eventually developed into a unique personal series with writings and images.


Date:
25.5-1.6 | 13:00 - 20:00 (Tue-Sun)
Address:
CCCD Artspace - Green Wave Art
404 Shanghai Street, Mong Kok
School:
P.L.K. C.W. Chu College
Tai Po Sam Yuk Secondary School
Student:
P.L.K. C.W. Chu College:
Wong Chi Yan
Chan Chiu Yin
Chan Tsz Chung
Lam Ka Lun
Ng Hoi Yan, Mentinia
Qin Fo Ming
Yow Kam Yin
Fu Yue
He Kai Ler
Ip Sin Yan
Li Jia Qi
Meng Jing Kai


Tai Po Sam Yuk Secondary School:
Yiu Chung Hei
Chen ZiLin
Ng Wai Yin
Sum Tsz Yi
Chan Tsz Ni
Huang Chiu Yuen
Wong Sze Kit
Yang Yu Si
Chen Cheng Hong

「憧憬世界」
攝影教育計劃
公眾展覽
落街玩周街影
簡介:
落街針針佢

公共空間是一個很有趣的課題,特別是在所謂地小人多的香港,公共空間的公共性十分吊詭。學生每日都會經過不同的公共空間,卻不一定留意在這些空間裏發生的事情,例如公園裏除了有玩耍的小朋友,有些時候還會有晨運的老人家、晾衫的師奶和休息的工人,他們對空間都有不同的需要,對社區也有不同的想像,可惜部分同學對公共空間的想像往往是零。

課程以自製針孔攝影機作為切入點,讓學生觀察及了解社區。他們首先學習針孔相機的製作及拍攝原理,輔以簡單的黑房操作技巧,然後走入社區收集廢物,改裝成特別設計的針孔相機,過程中學習和街坊溝通以及觀察社區,最後拍攝社區和街坊,期望他們可以介入社區從而促進與社區的互動。


路人路事

據統計,香港人每天平均步行約七千步,是全球之冠。但在每天的七千步之間,有多少既有趣且難得的人物、故事在我們匆匆忙忙、追追趕趕之際,從身邊一閃即逝呢?其實,每一天的生活,都可以是一趟發現之旅。
同學從學校及自家所熟悉的環境出發,學習掌握對日常生活的觀察,繼而走到認識但陌生的地方,蒐集路人路事,以文字及影像作記錄,繼而發展成不一樣的個人作品。
日期:
25.5-1.6 | 13:00 - 20:00(二至日)
地址:
碧波押(CCCD視藝空間)
旺角上海街404號
參與學校:
保良局朱敬文中學
大埔三育中學
參與學生:
保良局朱敬文中學:
黃智恩
陳昭諺
陳子聰
林嘉倫
吳凱欣
秦佛明
邱錦賢
傅悅
何佳洱
葉倩茵
李佳奇
蒙璟楷


大埔三育中學:
姚宗希
陳子琳
吳惠妍
沈子㦤
陳紫妮
黃昭源
王詩傑
楊雨思
陳誠鴻